NewsBundlz
November 2012

Hello BBers,

Have you eaten all your Halloween candy yet? As a suggestion, if you haven't eaten it all, you might want to save a few of these delicious blasts of energy to counter act all the turkey leftovers, because we cannot let the turkey tryptophan put us to sleep. If we do we will miss a lot of good reading time! And there are soooo many good books out right now it is making our heads spin! (Or maybe that is the tryptophan/sugar combo working in our blood streams.)

While you are eating your turkey and giving thanks for the many blessings in your life be sure to take the time to read and relax with these great books! Buy more chocolate if necessary… In fact, BB is officially giving you permission to indulge yourself in sweet treats to stay awake and read. What cause could be better than that? Well, maybe the literacy cause below, but this is a close second. ;)

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!

Thankful for our sugar rushes,
All of us at BookBundlz

CeciSamNickNoNameNoName

P.S. New Year's is right around the corner, so if you are looking to make your resolutions stick this year be sure to enter our contest to win a FREE copy of Unscribbling: the art of problem solving and fulfilling your desires - Click here to enter.


Our November Book Pick for our
BB Book Club


The Casual Vacancy

Buy now from:
Why The Casual Vacancy
By J.K. Rowling?

Umm… does this question really need an explanation? It's J.K. Rowling!! Even if it wasn't, the book still seems infinitely interesting...

"I had come under the spell of a great novel....A big, ambitious, brilliant, profane, funny, deeply upsetting and magnificently eloquent novel of contemporary England, rich with literary intelligence....This is a deeply moving book by somebody who understands both human beings and novels very, very deeply." (Time Lev Grossman )

"A vivid read with great, memorable characters and a truly emotional payoff....Rowling captures the humanity in everyone, even if that humanity is not always a pretty sight." (People)

Read the "buzz" and tell us what you thought....

Choosen
by YOU

BB Readers
Wanna Join?

Our Other Monthly Features Include:

Non-Fiction:
Elsewhere: A memoir
Elsewhere: A memoir
By Richard Russo

Teens:
Son
Son
By Lois Lowry

Kids:
Who Could That Be at This Hour? (All the Wrong Questions)
Who Could That Be at This Hour? (All the Wrong Questions)
By Lemony Snicket

Kids-Picture Book:
Land of the Pilgrims Pride
Land of the Pilgrims Pride
By Callista Gingrich & Susan Arciero



Literacy News:


At buildOn we run afterschool youth service programs that mobilize urban teens to lift up their communities and change the world through intensive local community service and by building schools in some of the poorest countries on the planet. We are a movement of students, educators and communities. We believe in the power of partnerships that passionately act for the common good. Through our programs, people inspire people across neighborhoods, across cities, and across continents to reach and think beyond their realm of possibility.
Our programs unlock the potential of under-resourced communities around the globe. The urban teens and villagers we work with are rebuilding our world by forming a new generation of social leaders. They are our future teachers, business leaders, activists and artists. They are the ones who believe that enough acts of kindness can set the wheels of change in motion.

To learn more, please go to: www.buildon.org


Oh, if the whole world could read, what a world it would be!


Weekly November Features:

This Book Is Full of Spiders: Seriously, Dude, Don't Touch It
This Book Is Full of Spiders: Seriously, Dude, Don't Touch It
By David Wong

The Stockholm Octavo
The Stockholm Octavo
By Karen Engelmann

Flight Behavior
Flight Behavior
By Barbara Kingsolver

Sweet Tooth
Sweet Tooth
By Ian McEwan



New Discussion Questions Available:

Carry the One
Carry the One
By Carol Anshaw

An Unexpected Guest
An Unexpected Guest
By Anne Korkeakivi

So Far Away
So Far Away
By Meg Mitchell Moore

Find more discussion questions on our discussion questions page.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
By Yann Martel


-
Back to Blood
Back to Blood
By Tom Wolfe
As a police launch speeds across Miami's Biscayne Bay-with officer Nestor Camacho on board-Tom Wolfe is off and running... Based on the same sort of detailed, on-scene, high-energy reporting that powered Tom Wolfe's previous bestselling novels, BACK TO BLOOD is another brilliant, spot-on, scrupulous, and often hilarious reckoning with our times.

Mrs Queen Takes the Train
Mrs Queen Takes the Train
By William Kuhn
After decades of service and family's troubles all over the tabloids, Britain's Queen needs some proper cheering up. So she walks out of Buckingham Palace to catch a train to Scotland. But a characterful cast of royal attendants has discovered her missing and set out to find her and bring her back before her absence becomes a national scandal.

The Pursuit of Cool
The Pursuit of Cool
By Robb Skidmore
A humorous, intense, and heartbreaking story of a pop culture obsessed, tragically romantic young man, sure to appeal to fans of Nick Hornby's High Fidelity, John Hughes movies, and the 1980s... "He wants to become a success but is easily distracted and obsessed with pop culture."

-



Newbie Books to Note:

The Sanctuary
The Sanctuary
By Ted Dekker
(10/30/2012)


Magnificence
Magnificence
By Lydia Millet
(11/5/2012)

Dear Life
Dear Life: Stories
By Alice Munro
(11/13/2012)


Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness
Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness
By Susannah Cahalan
(11/13/2012)



Not a BookBundlz clubie yet?

Become a clubie Now


wine.com


Unleash a Book at BookBundlz