Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir)

By Jenny Lawson
Binding:Hardcover
Publisher:Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam, (4/17/2012)
Language:English



Average Rating:
Very Unleashable
4.00 out of 5 (3 Clubie's ratings)


Buy Now From
buy it now from Amazon
buy it now from Barns and Noble
buy it now from Indie Bookstore


 
For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
 
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.
Like this book? Then you might also like these...

 
 

Book Junky's thoughts on "Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir)"
updated on:7/9/2012

Word of warning: if you have insomnia do not read this book - it will be of no help what-so-ever. It was about 3 am, and I was trying to read a few pages to get myself to sleep and all of a sudden "Chalupa!" and I was laughing uncontrollably! On more than one occasion I just burst out into giggles. A lot of occasions actually. 

Warning number 2: After you read this book you will start to say, "F@ck," "Y'all," and "I'm feeling stabby." Not necessarily all at the same time, but those words will definitely become part of your inner monologue… because let's face it not many of us could pull off saying those things out loud. Yet Jenny does. Which is another reason to really enjoy this book. 

The book actually seems to be a an interesting inner look at someone who grew up with, well let's just say "issues" yet we get to watch her start to embrace herself, laugh at herself and take us along for the journey. With TONS of laughs yet much to discuss this is a great book pick for book clubs. 



Very Unleashable



Ceci's thoughts on "Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir)"
updated on:7/4/2012

DISCLAIMER: This review may or may not accurately reflect the genuine quality of this book. Honestly, I was pretty tired while I was reading it and my iguana was being really needy.

I adore Jenny Lawson’s blogs. She is clever, outspoken, and enjoyably strange. At first LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED was everything I expected based on Lawson’s blogging. Smart and snarky (“Call me Ishmael. I won’t answer to it, because it’s not my name . . .”). Funny (“I grew up a poor black girl in New York. Except replace ‘black’ with ‘white’ and ‘New York’ with ‘rural Texas.’”). Really, really weird (“Most people have never stood inside a dead animal.”).

Not too far along, though, I found myself engaged in this debate:

Me:  The play-formatted dialogue, along with all the bullet points, lists, and footnotes seem overdone and just plain lazy writing.

Me:  Is it lazy or just the natural evolution of writing? Haven’t you ever read a blog?

Me:  But this is a book, not a blog. If this is the evolution of writing, what’s next? Text messaged books?

Me:  Snob.

Me: And BTW sometimes I feel like Lawson relies too much on her (admittedly spectacular) sense of humor and (sometimes clever, but a touch annoying) tangents, asides, and footnotes to distract us from the fact that this is some pretty tragic, emotional stuff she is writing about. I’m all for relying on humor to get through hard times, but what reads as wonderfully light and delightfully absurd in a short blog seems more like a dance around the truth – and just a bit brittle – at full book length.

Me: Whatever. I LMFAO.

EPILOGUE:  I just reread this review. I love how it presents different viewpoints and let’s you, the reader, decide whether this book is for you. This is America. This is a democracy. This is how it should be. Happy Independence Day.

ERRATA: The editors of BookBundlz have implored me to give you, the reader, an "actual point of view" about this book. Fine. You should read this book. You will laugh and you will learn the secret word.



Unleash it



Nick's thoughts on "Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir)"
updated on:7/2/2012

It's hard to really write a coherent review of this book for a couple of reasons. One, it's not the kind of book that follows a strict narrative structure or even works like a traditional memoir. Second, it's just so much fun to read, trying to explain it in a few sentences is like trying to explain to a friend something funny that happened to someone your friend has never met. You're laughing and gasping for air as you remember this hysterical thing and your friend just stares at  you until you finally just say, "you had to be there." In this case...you have to read it! Jenny Lawson has a delightfully fresh, brutally honest, and deliriously convoluted prose that is just plain fun to read. This is excellent summer reading. But beware if you read it in public, because you may just bust out laughing now and then.

DEFINITELY Unleash it


"Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir)"
By Jenny Lawson

Average Rating:
Very Unleashable
4.00 out of 5 (3 Clubie's ratings)


The Gentleman
The Gentleman
By Forrest Leo

 
 
 General reading guide discussion questions to be used with ANY book your book club or reading group might be discussing.
 
 
Clubie Submitted Discussion Questions
Have a good question? If your a clubie add one now.
 
 
How can we make BookBundlz even better? Tell us what you think would make this website teh best for book clubs, reading groups and book lovers alike!
 
 
 
 Apple iTunes

 
 


Also, Don't Miss BB's
Author News Page!
Look for advice on everything from how to get your book published to promoted. We are looking to help you get the word out about your book!

 
 
Check out our...

of the Month


Gifts