The Other Typist

By Suzanne Rindell
Binding:Hardcover
Publisher:Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam, (5/7/2013)
Language:English



Average Rating:
Very Unleashable
4.67 out of 5 (3 Clubie's ratings)


Buy Now From
buy it now from Amazon
buy it now from Barns and Noble
buy it now from Indie Bookstore


 

"Take a dollop of Alfred Hitchcock, a dollop of Patricia Highsmith, throw in some Great Gatsby flourishes, and the result is Rindell’s debut, a pitch-black comedy about a police stenographer accused of murder in 1920s Manhattan.... A deliciously addictive, cinematically influenced page-turner, both comic and provocative." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

For fans of The Talented Mr. Ripley and The Great Gatsby comes one of the most memorable unreliable narrators in years.

 
Rose Baker seals men’s fates. With a few strokes of the keys that sit before her, she can send a person away for life in prison. A typist in a New York City Police Department precinct, Rose is like a high priestess. Confessions are her job. It is 1923, and while she may hear every detail about shootings, knifings, and murders, as soon as she leaves the interrogation room she is once again the weaker sex, best suited for filing and making coffee.

This is a new era for women, and New York is a confusing place for Rose. Gone are the Victorian standards of what is acceptable. All around her women bob their hair, they smoke, they go to speakeasies. Yet prudish Rose is stuck in the fading light of yesteryear, searching for the nurturing companionship that eluded her childhood. When glamorous Odalie, a new girl, joins the typing pool, despite her best intentions Rose falls under Odalie’s spell. As the two women navigate between the sparkling underworld of speakeasies by night and their work at the station by day, Rose is drawn fully into Odalie’s high-stakes world. And soon her fascination with Odalie turns into an obsession from which she may never recover.


Like this book? Then you might also like these...

 
 

chrisf's thoughts on "The Other Typist"
updated on:9/4/2014



Very Unleashable



Reese's thoughts on "The Other Typist"
updated on:7/1/2013

From the very first sentence “They said the typewriter would unsex us” (women that is)   I knew I would like this book. It was a well written, descriptive and flowing read that made me want to curl up with a gin and tonic and lazily read it non-stop in a comfortable chair.  Most of which I did do :) in ode to the fact that it was set in New York City during the time of prohibition and speakeasies.  The story itself was full of twists and turns and there was something enough off center throughout that it was always just a bit out of grasp.  Was it plain Rose, the narrator…who is a typist in the New York city PD taking in the confessions of criminals. Can she be trusted as the story told is only her version we hear? Or was it the title character, glamorous Odalie, “The Other Typist” who Rose becomes obsessed with in the story as they become friends and partake in the illicit nightlife of the era. Maybe it was the other various interesting and unpredictable characters both in the police precinct and outside. And quite possibly it was the constant foreshadowing that could get you frustrated but made it a psychological twister with an ending that is ambiguous enough to make your head spin a little bit. All of the above had me loving this debut novel!

DEFINITELY Unleash it



Silver's Reviews's thoughts on "The Other Typist"
updated on:5/8/2013

The narration of the book was superb, the entire book was amazing, and the ending was incredible.  

The characters came alive, and I could see every scene vividly. Ms. Rindell brought to the literary world a great style and an extraordinary book.  Her descriptions are so lyrical and detailed you can easily and pleasantly visualize even the slightest action. The main "stage" of the book takes place in a police station, but that was not a detriment to the story. The smooth, easy flow of the novel was flawless, entertaining, and a bit mysterious. 

The book focused on the lives of the two main characters, Rose and Odalie, with Odalie being "the other typist."  The author was exploring relationships and human interaction....something we all have in our lives and need to deal with. Rose was the honest, unassuming one and Odalie seemed to want a friend but was manipulative, cunning, almost villian-like, and had another life separate from her typist's life at the police station. A life that Rose was not aware of but found out as their friendship progressed.

It was quite easy to get involved in the characters' lives which made the book difficult to put down.  You will absolutely love how the book flowed but you will also be afraid for Rose as she enters this new relationship with Odalie.  I liked Rose at the beginning but became disappointed as the book continued because of how she changed and how she was so captivated and easily swayed by Odalie. I didn't like Odalie from the minute she walked through the door at the police station on her first day of her new job. I could immediately tell what kind of person she was.  Are you curious why I am saying this?  :)  You will have to find out when you read this impressive book.

Think of a  friendship you had in your life.  Was it a friendship that lasted, was it simply a friendship that you thought was a good one but one that didn't last, was it one you really shouldn't have been in, or was it one that turned out to be a friendship for life?

This book has everything a wonderful book should have:  a beautiful writing style, characters you will become attached to, outstanding descriptions, an easily pulled into storyline, and a bit of secrecy and intrigue. Absolutely loved it. 5/5

This book was given to me free of charge and without compensation by the publisher in return for an honest review. 


DEFINITELY Unleash it


"The Other Typist"
By Suzanne Rindell

Average Rating:
Very Unleashable
4.67 out of 5 (3 Clubie's ratings)


The Gentleman
The Gentleman
By Forrest Leo

 
 
 General reading guide discussion questions to be used with ANY book your book club or reading group might be discussing.
 
 
Clubie Submitted Discussion Questions
Have a good question? If your a clubie add one now.
 
 
How can we make BookBundlz even better? Tell us what you think would make this website teh best for book clubs, reading groups and book lovers alike!
 
 
 
 Apple iTunes

 
 


Also, Don't Miss BB's
Author News Page!
Look for advice on everything from how to get your book published to promoted. We are looking to help you get the word out about your book!

 
 
Check out our...

of the Month


Gifts